My Favourites heart

My Favourites

Save your favourites with a single click and you’ll never forget a brilliant Muddy recommendation.

THINGS TO DO. ARTS. EAT. TRAVEL. FASHION. BEAUTY. KIDS. HOME

Get the inside line on what’s unique, special and new near you, straight to your inbox across 25 counties

Back to Books

5 best new books to read in November

There's only so much TV a gal can watch during lockdown, so give your gogglebox eyes a break and dive into one these new reads for November.

It’s bloomin’ freezing out there, so batten down the hatches, commandeer the sofa and get stuck into one of these Muddy recommendations.

Quite by Claudia Winkleman

Quite by Claudia Winkleman

‘Queen of the Fringe’ Claudia’s witty debut collection of essays celebrates friendship, family, and the little things that matter. Told with her trademark no-nonsense charm, this is not a memoir as such, more a stream of life lessons (including how to get the perfect smokey eye). Hilarious and warm-hearted, this book is the perfect tonic to a dreadful year.

Hungry by Grace Dent

Hungry by Grace Dent

Staying on the non-fiction theme, this is the hilarious new memoir by food critic Grace Dent. Growing up in Carlisle during the 1970s and 1980s, food was something of an obsession. From working-class roots in the north, to high-end restaurants in London, Grace details her life through the foods that have formed her tastes and her life. Woven through the narrative are recollections of family life, and in particular the relationship with her father. Poignant and very, very funny, this book will ensure that you never look at Aunt Bessie’s ready-made roasties in the freezer aisle in quite the same way.

The Split by Sharon Bolton 

The Split by Sharon Bolton

New in paperback, the queen of thrillers returns with an explosive standalone novel about a woman on the run. Leaving England for a new life in South Georgia, one of the most remote and inhospitable islands on Earth, Felicity Lloyd is escaping her past and the man she once loved. Having served time for murder, Freddie Lloyd is determined to find her. A twisty psychological thriller that’s ideal reading for a cold November night by the fire.

The Gospel of Eve by Rachel Mann

The Gospel of Eve by Rachel Mann

This is Mann’s first novel, and is set in the fictional Littlemore College, just outside Oxford with its dreaming spires. For generations the college has been a place for aspirant priests to train and pray, but for the first time women are preparing for the priesthood. Passions are running high in this academic enclave, and new ordinand Catherine Bolton is drawn into the intense circle of the charismatic Professor Albertus Loewe and his favoured students. Perfect for fans of The Secret History, and great on local detail. Fun fact – Rachel Mann is an actual priest!

The Searcher by Tana French

The Searcher by Tana French

Hot off the press this November, Tana French is one of our favourite authors. She writes lyrical and complex thrillers set mostly in Northern Ireland. As well as her popular Dublin Murder Squad novels, she is also the writer of standalone noir. Her latest, The Searcher, is set in a small Irish village where those forgotten by society make their own laws. Cal Hooper, a retired American policeman, has relocated here for peace and quiet, content to work on his cottage and leave his past behind. But someone is watching him, a young boy who needs something. The novel’s evocation of place is astounding, but at the heart of this story is the relationship between jaded cop and idealistic child.

Books originally recommended by The Book House, 93 High Street, Thame, Oxfordshire, OX9 3HJ, Tel: 01844 213032

Find more ideas here

Books

Tell us what you think

Your email address will not be published.

* Required
* Required

Little Black Book

The Little Black Book

Our A-Z of the grooviest local businesses to help make your life easier

View the businesses
Back Home

The Urban Guide to the Countryside - Cornwall

Reader Treats Just For You!